The World Games 2021 Birmingham Loading Icon

Participating Federations

Following the conclusion of The World Games 2017, the International World Games Association (IWGA) invited its 37 Member Federations to submit applications for the sports and disciplines they would like included in The World Games 2021 Birmingham.  

In April 2018, the IWGA Executive Committee announced the Sports Programme for The World Games 2021, which includes 33 official and invitational sports.  


The World Games 2021 Birmingham Participating Federations

International Canoe Federation 
International Federation of Muaythai Associations
International Federation of Sport Climbing
International Fistball Association
International Floorball Federation
International Gymnastics Federation
International Handball Federation
International Korfball Federation
International Life Saving Federation
International Orienteering Federation
International Powerlifting Federation
International Racquetball Federation
International Sumo Federation
International Triathlon Union
International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation
International Wheelchair Basketball Federation
International Wheelchair Rugby Federation 
Ju-Jitsu International Federation
The World Air Sports Federation
Tug of War International Federation
World Archery Federation
World Association of Kickboxing Organizations
World Baseball Softball Confederation
World Bowling
World Confederation of Billiards Sports
World Confederation of Boules Sports
World DanceSport Federation
World Flying Disc Federation
World Karate Federation
World Lacrosse
World Skate
World Squash Federation
World Underwater Federation

Qualifying Information

The International Federations that govern each sport are responsible for The World Games qualification process for their athletes or teams.  In most cases, participants must qualify by receiving a top ranking at the world championships or a qualification tournament that is governed by an International Federation for that sport.